International Museum Day 2019

International Museum Day 2019
 
 

Museums as Cultural Hubs: The Future of Tradition

 

In 1977, the International Council of Museums (ICOM) designated 18 May as the annual International Museum Day (IMD) to raise public awareness of the important role that museums play in society. The Leisure and Cultural Services Department has responded to this important appeal since 2001 by organising IMD events in mid-May every year.

The theme of IMD 2019 will focus on "Museums as Cultural Hubs: The future of tradition". The role of museums in society is changing. Museums keep reinventing themselves in their quest for becoming more interactive, audience-focused, community-oriented, flexible, adaptable and mobile agencies. They have become cultural hubs functioning as platforms where creativity combines with knowledge and where visitors can also co-create, share and interact.

While preserving their primary missions – collecting, conservation, communication, research, exhibition – museums have transformed their practices to remain closer to the communities they serve. Today they look for innovative ways to tackle contemporary social issues and conflict. By acting locally, museums can also advocate and mitigate global problems, striving to meet the challenges of today's society proactively. As institutions at the heart of society, museums have the power to establish dialogue between cultures, to build bridges for a peaceful world and to define a sustainable future.

As museums increasingly grow into their roles as cultural hubs, they are also finding new ways to honour their collections, their histories and their legacies, creating traditions that will have new meaning for future generations and relevance for an increasingly diverse contemporary audience at a global level. This transformation, which will have a profound impact on museum theory and practice, also forces us to rethink the value of museums and to question the ethical boundaries that define the very nature of our work as museum professionals.

At once a focal point for the community and an integral part of a global network, museums offer a platform for translating local communities' needs and views into a global context.

Participating Units

This year, International Museum Day in Hong Kong is scheduled for 18-19 May 2019, and over those two days visitors will be admitted free* to most of the local participating venues, where a wide range of educational and entertaining programmes will be held. Come and be inspired!
*Except for special exhibitions and programmes, which have an admission fee

 

Museums and Venues under Leisure and Cultural Services Department

Hong Kong Museum of History
Hong Kong Heritage Museum
Hong Kong Science Museum
Hong Kong Space Museum
Hong Kong Museum of Art
(Temporarily closed for renovation)
Flagstaff House Museum of Tea Ware
Oi!
Hong Kong Film Archive
Hong Kong Visual Arts Centre
Hong Kong Railway Museum
Hong Kong Museum of Coastal Defence
(Temporarily closed for renovation)
Sam Tung Uk Museum
Dr Sun Yat-sen Museum
Fireboat Alexander Grantham Exhibition Gallery
Sheung Yiu Folk Museum
Lei Cheng Uk Han Tomb Museum
Law Uk Folk Museum
Conservation Office
(Not open to public)
 

Other Participating Museums and Venues

AFCD Lions Nature Education Centre
Art Museum, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Asia Society Hong Kong Center
City Gallery
CUHK Jockey Club Museum of Climate Change
(Open on 18 May only)
Dr & Mrs Hung Hin Shiu Museum of Chinese Medicine, Hong Kong Baptist University
Heritage of Mei Ho House
Hong Kong Correctional Services Museum
Hong Kong Heritage Discovery Centre
Hong Kong Maritime Museum
Hong Kong Museum of Education, The Education University of Hong Kong
Hong Kong Museum of Medical Sciences
Jao Tsung-I Academy
kaitak, Centre for Research and Development in Visual Arts
Ping Shan Tang Clan Gallery cum Heritage Trail Visitors Centre
Po Leung Kuk Museum
Police Museum
Stephen Hui Geological Museum, The University of Hong Kong
Tao Heung Museum of Food Culture
The Hong Kong Racing Museum
Tung Wah Museum
(Temporarily closed for renovation, associated programme will be held at various locations.)
University Museum and Art Gallery, The University of Hong Kong

2019香港國際博物館日

2019香港國際博物館日
 
 

作為文化樞紐的博物館:傳統的未來

 

國際博物館協會(ICOM)自1977年起,把每年的5月18日定為「國際博物館日」,以喚起公眾對博物館的關注。康樂及文化事務署自2001年起響應這項國際性活動,於每年的5月中舉辦「香港國際博物館日」。

2019年國際博物館日的主題是「作為文化樞紐的博物館:傳統的未來」。博物館在社會中的角色不斷轉變,毫不間歇地塑造自我,積極追求變得更具互動性,更以觀眾為中心、以社區為導向,亦提高其靈活性、適應性以及流動性。博物館作為文化樞紐,不僅提供一個創意與知識互相融合的平台,也讓參觀者可以共同創作、分享和互動。

博物館在蒐集、保存、傳達、研究及展示這些主要使命的同時,也不忘改變慣常的做法,旨在與所服務的社區保持更緊密的聯繫。今天,博物館致力尋找創新的方法來解決當今社會上的種種問題和衝突。透過在本地實踐行動,博物館可以倡導及緩解全球性的問題,積極應對現今社會的挑戰。作為社會的核心機構,博物館有能力在不同文化領域建立對話,為和平的世界搭建橋樑,並給可持續發展的未來立下定義。

隨着扮演文化樞紐的角色日益成熟,博物館時刻都在尋覓嶄新的方式來表彰展示自己的藏品、歷史以及遺產,藉以創造對後代具有新意義的傳統,並提高與全球愈趨多元化的觀眾的相關性。這種轉變將對博物館的理論及實踐產生深遠的影響,亦驅使從事博物館行業的專業人士重新思考其價值,以及對其工作本質的倫理界限提出疑問。

博物館既是社區的核心,又是全球網絡的組成部分,它能夠給予一個平台,將當地社區的需求和觀點轉化成全球關注的事項。

參與單位

「2019香港國際博物館日」將於5月18及19日舉行,本地多間文博單位將會免費開放*,同時更會推出多項教育及娛樂並重的精采節目,歡迎大家踴躍參與。
*專題展覽及收費節目除外

 

康樂及文化事務署轄下博物館及文博單位

香港歷史博物館
香港文化博物館
香港科學館
香港太空館
香港藝術館
(現正閉館進行翻新工程)
茶具文物館
油街實現
香港電影資料館
香港視覺藝術中心
香港鐵路博物館
香港海防博物館
(現正閉館進行翻新工程)
三棟屋博物館
孫中山紀念館
葛量洪號滅火輪展覽館
上窰民俗文物館
李鄭屋漢墓博物館
羅屋民俗館
文物修復辦事處
(不對外開放)
 

其他參與博物館及文博單位

漁農自然護理署獅子會自然教育中心
香港中文大學文物館
亞洲協會香港中心
展城館
香港中文大學賽馬會氣候變化博物館 (只於5月18日開放)
香港浸會大學孔憲紹博士伉儷中醫藥博物館
美荷樓生活館
香港懲教博物館
香港文物探知館
香港海事博物館
香港教育大學 香港教育博物館
香港醫學博物館
饒宗頤文化館
「啟德」視覺藝術研究與發展中心
屏山鄧族文物館暨文物徑訪客中心
保良局歷史博物館
警隊博物館
香港大學許士芬地質博物館
稻鄉飲食文化博物館
香港賽馬博物館
東華三院文物館
(現正閉館進行翻新工程,特備節目將於不同地點舉行。)
香港大學美術博物館